Bedside Yoga ~ Yoga and End of Life Care

60 hour on-line training

A 60 hour on-line training for yoga teachers and therapists, chaplains, hospice care workers, or anyone who wants to bring both deep presence and sound practical tools to those at end of life. 

This intensive training falls into the category of “there is no way we could put that online!” But here we are.

Having had to cancel our in-person retreat twice due to Covid, I came to realize that I would have to find a way to transfer this content online. Now that I have wrapped my head around it, and begun the first training, I am excited and inspired to share and have found that through the online platform,  I can deliver the training in a way that is accessible, profound, connecting and practical.

Bedside Yoga was originally borne out of the Grief and Loss classes offered at The Samarya Center. It occurred to us early on that if we were working with people who were in bereavement for a loved one, then it made sense to extend our reach to the time before the person died, and to extend our offering to the person who was at end of life.

This training is for anyone who is interested in the Death Doula or Death Cafe movements, for anyone who wants to bring a deep spiritual presence to the end of life journey, or who wants to explore the whole process of death and dying, including practical matters and family dynamics and systems.

 

The training is a total of 60 hours of combined online and self-study that can be applied as IAYT continuing education, but more importantly will prepare you for the experience of death and dying – for your own loved ones, for relative strangers, and for yourself.

Hours are one Tuesday and one Thursday evening, and one Sunday morning per month, for three months. There will be additional required reading as well as self-directed study and group connection through a password protected page on the website. 

There will be four sessions offered in 2021, with each session containing four units.
Session 1 runs January – April

Unit 1: 

Faith foundations and self-inquiry

Tuesday, January 5, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, January 14, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, January 17, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 2: 

What is your role?

Tuesday, January 26, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, February 4, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, February 7, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 3: 

Legacy and vigil planning, working with families, systems theory

Tuesday, February 16, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, February 25, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, February 28, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 4: Movement, Thai Yoga, Collective Care

Tuesday, March 9, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, April 18, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, April 21, 11 – 2 Pacific time

 

Session 2 runs March – May
Unit 1: 
Faith foundations and self-inquiry

Tuesday, March 23, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, April 1, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, April 4, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 2: 
What is your role?

Tuesday, April 13, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, April 22, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, April 25, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 3: 
Legacy and vigil planning, working with families, systems theory

Tuesday, May 4, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, May 13, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, May 16, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 4: Movement, Thai Yoga, Collective Care

Tuesday, May 25, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, June 3, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, June 6, 11 – 2 Pacific time

 

Session 3 runs June – August

Unit 1: 
Faith foundations and self-inquiry

Tuesday, June 15, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, June 24, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, June 27, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 2: 
What is your role?

Tuesday, July 6, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, July 15, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, July 18, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 3: 
Legacy and vigil planning, working with families, systems theory

Tuesday, July 27, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, August 5, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, August 8, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 4: Movement, Thai Yoga, Collective Care

Tuesday, August 17, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, August 26, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, August 29, 11 – 2 Pacific time

 

Session 4 runs September – November

Unit 1: 
Faith foundations and self-inquiry

Tuesday, September 7, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, September 16, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, September 19, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 2: 
What is your role?

Tuesday, September 28, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, October 7, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, October 10, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 3: 
Legacy and vigil planning, working with families, systems theory

Tuesday, October 19, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, October 28, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, October 31, 11 – 2 Pacific time

Unit 4: Movement, Thai Yoga, Collective Care

Tuesday, November 9, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Thursday, November 18, 4 – 6:30 Pacific time

Sunday, November 21, 11 – 2 Pacific time

 

To understand more about Bedside Yoga and how it alike and different from typical “Death Doula” training, and to read or listen more about Molly’s experience please go here.

Total cost: $1275.              To pay in full or make a deposit, please click here. Payment plans and scholarship options available.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This